Dear visitors of RCWORLD.ch, RCACTION.de, RCWORLD.at and RCFORUM.ch

Unfortunately, these pages were discontinued; the demand became smaller and smaller and I had less and less time to take care of the pages. The pages were created in 1999 by Lorenz Schmid, the owner of Nelocom GmbH. In the best times RCWORLD.ch was visited by more than 10’000 visitors per day. It was funny when e.g. the employees of Team Losi found out about their own product news on RCWORLD.ch or when there were small scandals: e.g. when we managed to take apart a Flash banner of Team Xray and thus revealed the first pictures of the NT1. Or when we were the first people in the world to have pictures of HPI Racing Pro 3 and it spread like wildfire around the world.

We had created over 5000 news items, most notably Sergio “Seri” Leung, who was extremely active on my self-programmed CMS and wrote up to 10 news items a day through his good contacts. Many other friends helped me with the project, which started with a logo design in my children’s room. At first RCWORLD was called “ERCC” – I don’t remember exactly what this meant… 🙂 (Emojis did not exist at that time either)

So time flies… The GP World Cup can be called the first really professionally organized race: Online registration with online payment, live coverage, videos – and Scotty Ernst at the microphone. Riders from all over the world participated in the event; in Preverenges with top infrastructure… That’s why I designed the first logo of the ETS and decided against starting the race series with Scotty and Uwe because of the further education. And the GP Worldcup opened doors for me again and in the blossom of my hobby, I was allowed to visit Cars&Details in Hamburg – again, I decided against the job as editor-in-chief – but there, too, I was grateful for all the experiences.

RCWORLD.ch opened many doors and gates for me – also my first job with Team Orion in Geneva or the takeover of the magazine model-cars + racingsport with later founding of the publishing house and founding of Auto Sport Schweiz Magazine, association magazine of Auto Sport Schweiz, which awards all motor sport licenses in our country on behalf of the FIA; many friendships and partnerships around the world were formed. I could write for a long time – but now it’s time to take the next step. With Nelocom I am still involved in the RC hobby, but also in other industries that interest me, such as watchmaking and other “bigger” industries.

Thank you all very much for all the support and I am looking forward to seeing you at RC races or other events.

Kind regards
Lorenz Schmid

Sehr geehrte Besucher von RCWORLD.ch, RCACTION.de, RCWORLD.at und RCFORUM.ch

Leider wurden RCWORLD.ch und RCFORUM.ch eingestellt; die Nachfrage wurde immer kleiner und ich hatte auch immer weniger Zeit, um mich um die Seiten zu kümmern. Erstellt wurden die Webseiten im Jahr 1999 von Lorenz Schmid, dem Besitzer der Nelocom GmbH. In den besten Zeiten wurde RCWORLD.ch von mehr als 10’000 Besuchern pro Tag besucht. Lustig war, wenn z.B. die Angestellten von Team Losi auf RCWORLD.ch von ihren neuen Produkten erfuhren oder wenn es kleine Skandale gab: z.B. als wir es schafften, einen Flash Banner von Team Xray “auseinanderzunehmen” und sich so die ersten Bilder des NT1 offenbarten. Oder als wir die ersten weltweit waren, die Bilder vom HPI Racing Pro 3 hatten und diese sich wie ein Lauffeuer weltweit verbreiteten – und schon bald folgte ein Mail vom Boss höchstpersönlich…

Über 5000 News hatten wir erstellt, allen voran Sergio “Seri” Leung, der auf meinem selbst programmierten CMS extrem aktiv war und durch seine guten Kontakte bis zu 10 News pro Tag schrieb. Viele weitere Freunde halfen mir beim Projekt, das in meinem Kinderzimmer mit einem Logo-Design startete. Zuerst hiess RCWORLD.ch “ERCC” – ich erinnere mich gar nicht mehr, was dies genau hiess… 🙂 (Emojis gab es damals auch noch nicht)

So vergeht die Zeit… der GP Worldcup kann wohl als das erste richtig professionell organisierte Rennen bezeichnet werden: Online-Anmeldung mit Online-Bezahlung, Live-Berichterstattung, Videos – und Scotty Ernst am Mikrofon. Fahrer aus der ganzen Welt nahmen am Anlass teil; in Preverenges mit Top-Infrastruktur… So kam es auch, dass ich das erste Logo des ETS designte und mich wegen der Weiterbildung dagegen entschied, mit Scotty und Uwe die Rennserie ins Leben zu rufen. Und der GP Worldcup öffnete mir wiederum Türen und in der Blüte des Hobbies, durfte ich Cars&Details in Hamburg besuchen und der Job als Chefredakteur wurde mir angeboten. Was für eine Ehre!

RCWORLD.ch öffnete mir viele Türen und Toren – ebenfalls meinen ersten Job bei Team Orion in Genf oder die Übernahme des Magazins model-cars + racingsport mit späterer Verlagsgründung und Gründung des Auto Sport Schweiz Magazins, Verbandsmagazin der Auto Sport Schweiz, die alle Motorsportlizenzen in unserem Land im Auftrag der FIA vergibt; viele Freundschaften und Partnerschaften rund um die Welt ergaben sich. Ich könnte noch lange schreiben – doch jetzt ist es an der Zeit, den nächsten Schritt zu wagen. Mit Nelocom bin ich noch immer im RC Hobby tätig, aber auch in anderen Branchen, die mich interessieren, wie der Uhrenbranche und andere “grössere” Industrien.

Ich danke euch allen vielmals für all den Support und freue mich, euch an RC Rennen oder anderen Anlässen zu sehen.

Liebe Grüsse
Lorenz Schmid